Doing what I love

In Do What You Love, I shared arguments for doing what you love but did not examine what that was for me. I’ve been thinking a lot about traveling lately. People keep telling me about all the wonderful places I should visit and explore. I am in a position where I really could do that right now, but I haven’t largely because it doesn’t excite me so much. I just read an interview with Craig Barrett, the soon to be retiring CEO of Intel:

Q: What advice would you give to your successor?

A: I will tell my successor: “Make sure you have a passion for the technology and the business, and make sure you try to translate that passion to your employees and the company as a whole.”

People do a good job when they love what they do. They do a good job when they really enjoy and believe in what they do. So, I would make sure that my successor has those characteristics. I would also tell my successor that you make sure that you work hard and play hard. Balance your personal life with your professional life, but do both at 200 miles an hour.

He captured it! My passion is indeed technology and business. I’ve been spending time recently helping a company in my neighborhood firgure out its technology and business strategy not because they are paying me (we have no explicit arrrangement right now), but because I really love the area and want to help make their company work.

Conclusion: I don’t really want to travel. I want to build something. I will be getting back on track with my own projects soon.

5 Responses to Doing what I love

  1. Morgan says:

    finally!!

  2. diane says:

    It’s amazing, isn’t it, how much information there is just in the registration of a preference.

    The option to travel will always be there.

  3. Bro says:

    Talk is cheap, speaking of which: What is it thatís still holding you back? Fear that these decisions will entail a loss of freedom? Revolutionary perfectionism? Fear that technological change is proceeding at historically unprecedented levels and will override whatever choice you make? War fear, exacerbated by the fact that you are surrounded by Appeasementists? Lack of progress on the biological reproduction imperative, and the memetic reproduction excuse?

    Consider more:
    Sleep;
    Water;
    Exercise;
    Gratitude;
    Community;
    Charitable giving;
    Disciplined scheduling;
    Risk-taking (and effort and courage-employing);
    Clear short- and medium-term goals and long-term vision.

    Or how about you just ink the job with these guys that you seem happy working with, and build from there?

  4. cranky says:

    think about this: the people around you who have not been paralyzed by an urgent fear of radical islam (matt calls us appeasementists) have tended to be more productive. are you letting the terrorists win by letting fear govern your life?

  5. may i recommend large-scale light art? glen and i built the best goddamn thing at PDF this year, and it felt GOOOOOOOD.

    i am feeling more and more like i want to make tangible, lasting objects, instead of fleeting moving pictures on a screen. things that can be held and touched and mounted on walls.

Leave a Reply

